A Look Past from my son on Mother’s Day

My son Michael posSecond gradeted a photo of me today on my Facebook wall.

The photo was swiped out of an album when he was young. I have never understood why he loved that photo so much. But today i looked at it closely so I could crop it and enhance the color a bit, after all it is a photo taken of a photo taken 43 years ago.

That little girl in second grade was barely 7 years old and innocence had yet to be stripped of her soul. For the first time in my adult life I have been gifted with the time to look closely at this and to actually remember that the little girl in the photo is who I was when I loved my very best friend William, when I could go home and not worry about the monster that laid in wait, preying on me like a wolf, when I went to church with my best friend  and didn’t get the snot beat out of me by that same monster when i returned from church.

Thank you Michael for giving me back that little girl that was dead to me for too long.Thank you for that glimpse back into an innocuous life. I love you so very much

Leave a Reply

