And now for something different…Days of December #8

Today I have chosen a photo and challenge from the wonderful Bill Jones Jr..friend, author and encourager. He has asked, as an exercise to choose a photo and write…no posting the photo so the reader can see it through the writing.

 

We had taken a stroll on the snow covered street after being wooed into the bitter chill by the gorgeous sun. The promise of hot chocolate and snuggling in front of a warm fire when we got back prodded me to not turn back too soon.

The snow crunched under out feet and had very little give but easily broke apart, especially when it was sitting on a patch of ice. I was not used to this at all, you see I am from a warmer climate, a banana belt if you will. Something about the way the oceanic circulations of the currents just north of me keeps the chill, for the most part, away from my city, blah…blah…blah!

Anyway, my point is this: 1. It was damned cold. 2. I understood what layering does for you after the walk. 3. Standing still does not keep you from slipping on hidden ice. And finally 4. When the love of your life tells you to pack your sunglasses for the Valentine’s Day getaway…don’t laugh, just follow instructions.

As we headed back down the street things seemed very faded in the sunlight. Dreary and bright…does that even make sense?

The snow on the front lawn sparkled though, shimmering like tiny diamonds. The pale yellow of the house was a bright gray, and the brown shutters contrasted sharply as black. The white gables, window casings and pillars on the porches meant to accent this beautiful structure diminished in purpose.

I try to see the best in things, and though I seemed to be blinded by the sun right then and not able to share in the beauty of this home, turned Bed & Breakfast several years back, from outside, the sound of the blood rushing in my veins as my heart pounded with happiness and seeing that grin on his face were all that mattered.

You see, he had taken me on that walk for the sole purpose of setting me on a tree swing at the school he attended as a child. Once I was sat down he dropped to one knee in the snow and asked me to spend the rest of my life with him.

Of course I said yes, silly. Tomorrow will be 62 years since I said yes. I have been coming here alone the past 14 years to spend Valentine’s Day with him, sitting in the bitter cold at his grave…without sunglasses…so the only beauty I remember is the love we shared.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Jones, Jr.
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 05:04:41

    That was wonderful! It really sparkled when you got to the building. I loved the bittersweet ending. Thanks for joining in Amy.

    Reply

  2. amysomday
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 09:03:29

    Thanks Bill. When I first saw the photo more than the house’s beauty striking me was that snow. It looks like February snow…beautiful but “thank you, I’ll pass”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

