The Liebster Award

The ever so sweet Mr Bill Jones Jr, author of the Stream Series of books, including Discovery, Awakening and Emprise, has nominated me for the Liebster Award. Thank you Bill. Much much love to you. I am ever so happy to call you friend and one of the dearest loves to my heart. This was fun but took some thought..because I am far too wordy!!!

Here are the rules for the Liebster Award:

  • Posts 11 random facts about oneself and answer the 11 questions asked by the person who nominated you.
  • Pass the award onto 11 other blogs
  • Write 11 NEW questions directed towards YOUR nominees
  • Paste the award picture into your blog

11 Random Facts:

  1. I am deathly afraid of the water and of heights but I love to photograph lakes, the ocean, and waterfalls; and I love aeronautics, most things about flight and space.
  2. I dislike chocolate, seafood & fish, spicy and salty foods and I abhor cheesecake and carrots.
  3. I lived in Iran as a child, and when an Iranian friend of my brother turned 13 he and his parents showed up at our gate. They presented my Dad with a goat and ornate boxes inlaid with ivory and gold and containing golden coins and candy made from honey as well as handmade Persian rugs. They tried to trade these things for my hand in marriage. I was 11.
  4. At the age of 28 I was in a car accident with my family, we hit a horse that ran in front of our car. I was kicked in the chest by the horse as it rolled over the hood and kicked into the windshield before busting the weld of the A-pillar from the roof and having the metal lodge in my face. I had no broken bones but was airlifted to a large hospital for plastic surgery on my face. On the flight over I died 3 times.
  5. Sappy love story movies make my stomach churn.
  6. I am allergic to codeine and to fresh pineapple.
  7. Two things in my life I have had tugging at my heart for years to do are a. Missionary work of some sort in a foreign country…mainly some place in Africa. (My blog and my posts on G+ have had feedback from a few people in African countries. Of these people I have been told that my photos and stories have been shared in their villages. I have been invited to visit too.) and b.Work on patient advocacy issues at a higher level, maybe even governmental. (My 87 year old Mama lives with me and I have had the opportunity to endure heart wrenching and frustrating visits to the hospital and nursing home, Drs. Office visits and more. I have been her voice all too often and in responding to the Chairman and CEO’s monthly letter to the employees at the hospital I work at my opinion and voice have been heard. I have been asked to speak to the Board of Directors next year about……the patient advocacy in my heart).
  8. Every man I have dated since my divorce has noticed my deep blue eyes and every one of them has commented on their beauty. In contrast, my ex, to whom my relationship spanned from a first date on October 16, 1978 until our divorce on April 28, 2008 never once said anything about my eyes to me.
  9. When I was 15 I lived in Washington and my 29 year old brother Tom, who lived in Nevada, died. I woke at 4 a.m. when he passed and as clear as if in person he was sitting at the edge of my bed and said “I have to go now baby girl, I love you.”
  10. I scared the crap out of myself once at night…the light in the hallway was on and it was dark outside… I went to the hall window to look out and see what some noise was and when I opened the curtains there was a woman with a face in a green cucumber mask staring back at me. Note to self: Never do the mask thing in front of another person and never leave the light on when looking out the window into the dark. I screamed and woke up all three kids.    sigh!
  11. Of all the grandkids I was my Grandpa Davis’s favorite. When we would come to visit he would always have two bags of circus peanut candy, a new box of crayons and two new color books in the bottom dresser drawer in his room. We would sit on the floor coloring and getting sick on circus peanuts despite his warning that we couldn’t get Grandma angry by ruining our supper. I have not had circus peanuts since the last one I ate with him when I was 17, sitting at his bedside while he was ill. I colored for him every day until he was better. Also in the bottom drawer he had a stack of pages ripped from coloring books from years of my coloring with him.

My answers to Bill’s questions:

  1. What is most important to you in choosing a book to read?
    • When choosing a book to read it has to be adventurous and full of things that will catch my mental eye. I tend not to read other peoples work too much as I am, like so many, influenced by the environment in which I place myself. Plagiarism is always at the forefront of my mind when writing, you cannot “cover” a book like you can a song. I also love text books!
  2. Name an absolutely terrible movie that you secretly love.
    • Actually I have two. Superbad (BooYah Mutha fu**a!!!) and Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band (with the BeeGees and Peter Frampton). My face is red so quickly moving on…
  3. What makes you want to slam a book shut and never finish it?
    • Sappy, thick like molasses, sweet, gushy mushy love. BLECH!
  4. You think you’re alone. The music is loud. You have a spoon, and you’re lip-synching that song you’re kind of embarrassed for liking. Who is singing, and what’s the song?
    • Definitely “You Might Think” by the Cars. Wait… Um… “I’m A Flirt” by R. Kelly. WAIT!!! “Tell Me Somethin’ Good” by Rufus and Chaka Khan
  5. The Zombies are coming. Why should we put you on our team?
    • Because I know how to shoot a .45 ACP, I can load clips (magazines) rapidly, I know how to field dress an animal, skin it and butcher it. I know how to conceal and carry enough C4 and det cord in my make-up kit to blow thinks to smithereens (Don’t even ask!!).
  6. If Heaven existed, and it’s like a book you’ve read or movie you’ve seen, which one is it? Why?
    • Well, I have yet to see a movie that would fit, however, if I must choose one I would say “Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind” because we make a choice to walk away from the negative that affects us, walking on to a better plane but when we get there, those who we chose to forget would be there too. If we chose who would be worthy of Heaven like we choose who is worthy of us, Heaven would be desolate, wouldn’t it?
  7. Which character (you’ve written or read) would you most want to be friends with (with or without benefits)?
    • Dang, can’t I choose the author instead?? <insert smirky smile> Wellll I would say Beauty from the A. N. Roquelaure (Anne Rice) series Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty. Oh the conversations!!!
  8. The world as we know it will end: a) In a zombie apocalypse, b) Never, because Light will always defeat Darkness, c) When we jump on that last rocket and finally ditch this backwater planet, or d) With you, ‘cause you’re taking all the other suckers out when you go. Which one?
    • B. Definitely B! If you don’t know me by now let’s just say B sums it up.
  9. Do you consider yourself to be an artist?
    • Not really. I think I am just a simple person sharing what I feel and see. I always think of an artist as someone accomplished in their craft.
  10. What’s the dumbest thing to be afraid of that scares the crap out of you?
    • Being alone for the rest of my life. ‘nuff said.
  11. Your blog is now famous. As a result, celebrities want your attention. Writers call, actors call, singers text, but you only have time for 1 or 2. Whom do you hang out with, and whom do you have a secret fling with?
    • I would choose Oprah Winfrey to hang out with, thought I have never watched a single show of hers I think she would keep me grounded and remind me of what is important and needing attention of the generous….Secret fling? I know he is far far too young but…Ne-Yo, have you seen that smile, have you seen how he can wear the heck out of a fedora.

My questions for the nominees:

  1. What is the dumbest thing you ever did to show someone you love them?
  2. If there were a holodeck (like in Star Trek TNG) in your home what would be the era you would go back to visit the most? Why?
  3. You are all harnessed in and secured to bungee jump, who would you make go with you?
  4. Who most influenced you as a child to become the person you are today?
  5. You have 1 minute to tell the world, yes…the entire world something that will define you as a person for eternity… GO!!
  6. What is your favorite thing to cook for others?
  7. Turn your chair around and look at what’s there. What would I see if I were you?
  8. Rice, pasta or potatoes?
  9. Have you ever trusted another person 100%?
  10. Consider who you are, your personality, your voice, and the things you have or have not done in life…. Now what one singer would you want to sum your life up in a song and sing to the world?
  11. Would you rather spend an afternoon at a good movie with friends or at a museum enjoying the art of another?

My nominees:

http://fixyourmirror.wordpress.com/

http://jennigreenmiller.wordpress.com

http://malouprestado.com

http://sylviegilman.wordpress.com

http://unorthodoxepicure.wordpress.com

http://www.corbincreations.com/

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Bill Jones, Jr.
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 14:56:26

    Amy, these are really good. I didn’t see you had done this. Thanks for participating.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

